## **Board of Nominators**

MEDIA RELEASE 9 SEPTEMBER 2024



On 10 August 2024 the Board of Nominators for the Anglican Diocese of Melbourne held its first formal meeting. This is the first step in the process to elect a new Archbishop of Melbourne, the person who will succeed Archbishop Philip Freier after he retires on 9 February 2025.

The Board has already held several meetings and made a number of decisions. The Board is now keen to hear from Melbourne Anglicans, especially Synod members, as part of its consultation process across September and October.

The Board has established a website <u>boardofnominators.org</u> that includes a selection of prayers for parishes, congregations and individuals to use, information about the consultation process, FAQs (frequently asked questions) and updates about the Board's work and the election process.

The Archbishop election process is set out in the *Archbishop Election Act 2022* of the Synod of the Diocese of Melbourne. The primary role of the Board of Nominators is to present two to six candidates to the Election Synod for its consideration. It is the responsibility of the Election Synod to elect one of these candidates as Archbishop of Melbourne.

The Board has appointed Dr Jenny George as Chair, Mr Chris Sadler as Deputy Chair, Mr Matthew Crichton as Secretary, and the Revd Kirsty Brown as Treasurer, and is now meeting fortnightly.

Melbourne priest the Revd Sandy Jones, who has assisted several Australian Anglican Dioceses in the appointment of their bishops, has been engaged by the Board as a consultant to provide executive support.

As required by section 21 of the *Archbishop Election Act* the Registrar, Malcolm Tadgell, has invited members of the Election Synod to submit names of potential candidates for Archbishop of Melbourne to the Board. In addition to this required process, Synod members and others are welcome to submit names to the Board at any time using the form available at boardofnominators.org/nominations.

The Board has agreed that its first activities need to include building profiles of the Diocese and the Archbishop's role, and a consultation process especially with Synod members as it develops selection criteria for candidates for election as Archbishop.

All Melbourne Anglicans are now invited to complete a survey in the next two weeks to assist the Board in discerning what Melbourne needs in its next Archbishop and what

information the Election Synod needs to discharge its responsibilities. The survey will take around 45 minutes to complete and is available at <u>boardofnominators.org/survey</u>.

The Board has reviewed requirements relating to child safety and professional standards, areas that have changed significantly since the last Archbishop election in 2006, to ensure these are appropriately reflected throughout the selection process.

In light of these decisions, the Board has indicated to Bishop Genieve Blackwell (who will be Administrator of the Diocese after Archbishop Philip's retirement) that the Election Synod Meeting will not be held before May 2025. The Election Synod must be held no later than 10 August 2025.

Dr George, Chair of the Board of Nominators, said:

The Board has begun working together well as we commence this journey of discernment. We are especially pleased with the plans for wider consultation over the next few months. Please pray for us as our work continues that we will be collaborative and honest, that we will listen carefully and that, together with the members of the Election Synod, we will be guided by God to the right person to be our next Archbishop.

The Board of Nominators was elected by Synod in October 2023 with 18 members (9 clergy and 9 laity). Since the elections were declared, there have been four changes to the membership of the Board. The *Archbishop Election Act* prevents any vacancies being filled when these occur after the Board's first meeting. As two resignations were received after 10 August, the Board presently has 16 members (7 clergy and 9 laity). Each member of the Board has signed a confidentiality statement as required by the *Archbishop Election Act*. The current members of the Board are:

Laity: Matthew Crichton, Jenny George, Ian Gibson, Ian Harper, Fiona McLean,

Chris Sadler, Michael Shand, Dianne Shay, Peter Sherlock

Clergy: Kirsty Brown, Farag Hanna, Andrew Livingstone, Andreas Loewe,

Christopher Porter, Alison Taylor, Ben Wong

Further information: boardofnominators.org

Contact: info@boardofnominators.org