Board of Nominators

MEDIA RELEASE 28 AUGUST 2024



Greetings in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

On Saturday 10 August 2024 the Board of Nominators for the Anglican Diocese of Melbourne held its first formal meeting.

This is the first step in the process to elect a new Archbishop of Melbourne, the person who will succeed Archbishop Philip Freier when he retires on 9 February 2025. The process is set out in the *Archbishop Election Act 2022* approved by the Synod of the Diocese.

The primary role of the Board of Nominators is to present two to six candidates to the Election Synod for its consideration. It is the responsibility of the Election Synod to elect one of these candidates as Archbishop of Melbourne.

All members of the Board have signed a confidentiality statement approved by Archbishop in Council. Confidentiality is essential to protect the people we will consider as potential candidates. The Board has also affirmed the importance of good communication with the Diocese and its stakeholders, and most especially with the members of the Election Synod. As a result, we expect this to be the first of several public announcements to keep you informed of our work.

Our first meeting went for six hours. We began with a Bible reading and prayer and spent further time in prayer during the afternoon. Part of our meeting was attended by Bishop Genieve Blackwell, who will be Administrator of the Diocese following Archbishop Philip's retirement, and the Registrar, Malcolm Tadgell, and we are grateful to them for spending time with us.

We made a number of decisions during the meeting:

- We elected Jenny George as Chair, Chris Sadler as Deputy Chair, Matthew Crichton as Secretary, and Kirsty Brown as Treasurer.
- 2. We agreed to contract the Revd Sandy Jones as consultant to the Board to assist us in our work. Sandy is a priest of the Diocese of Melbourne and has assisted a number of other Australian Dioceses in the appointment of their bishops. We give thanks for her wisdom, experience and availability for this role.
- 3. We agreed that before we could give serious consideration to potential candidates, we must consult widely across the Diocese and its stakeholders. We

are developing a consultation process and will communicate further details to you in coming weeks.

- 4. The Archbishop Election Act 2022 requires the Registrar to invite each Election Synod member to submit names for the Board's consideration no later than 10 September 2024. Election Synod members may do this by completing the submission form at www.boardofnominators.org/nominations We look forward to receiving these suggestions and will consider these in due course as required by the Act.
- 5. We agreed, however, that we will also ask Synod members to submit names later this year after we have completed a consultation process and developed selection criteria for the role of Archbishop.
- 6. We noted that the Election Synod Meeting must be held between March and August 2025. We agreed that, given the work we need to do, the earliest date for the Election Synod Meeting will be during May 2025. We will advise Synod members as soon as possible of provisional dates for this meeting.
- 7. We discussed requirements relating to child safety and professional standards, areas that have changed significantly since the last time we elected an Archbishop. We noted the need to ensure our processes comply with both church and secular law.

Finally, we ask the people, clergy, parishes and congregations of the Diocese to pray with us and for us as we commence this discernment process, to pray for Archbishop Philip as he prepares for retirement, and to pray for the people who will be considered by the Board in the coming months. We will distribute some prayers for your use shortly.

Thanks be to God!

Jenny George Chair, on behalf of the Board of Nominators

Members of the Board of Nominators

Lay: Matthew Crichton, Jenny George, Ian Gibson, Ian Harper, Fiona McLean,

Chris Sadler, Michael Shand, Dianne Shay, Peter Sherlock

Clergy: Kirsty Brown, Farag Hanna, Andrew Livingstone, Andreas Loewe, Glenn

Loughrey, Christopher Porter, Stuart Soley, Alison Taylor, Ben Wong